Posted by: socalsalty | February 12, 2013

Recipe: Halibut Enchilada Casserole

I have a friend Maureen who writes a seafood cooking blog called Seafood Lady.  She posted a recipe this week for Grouper Enchiladas.  I eat fish tacos all the time, but I’d never thought of fish in an enchilada before.  When I went to make dinner Sunday night and looked in the fridge, I had some fresh fish from Saturday’s trip, but I also had a big piece of baked halibut leftover from Tuesday night dinner with the kids.  I should eat that halibut.

Halibut Enchilada Casserole (serves 4)

Ok the Enchilada part is a bit of a misnomer, since I was lazy and didn’t want to roll ’em.  It’s more a lasagna style dish, but I wanted to acknowledge Maureen’s inspiration.  Thanks Mo!

halibut casseroleIngredients

corn tortillas

1/2 lb of baked halibut

1 roma tomato

1 smaller zucchini

baby spinach leaves

sour cream

shredded cheese

tomatillo salsa

fish stock (substitute with chicken or vegetable stock if you don’t have it)

optional – diced green chiles

Directions

Spray a square baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.  Place a layer of corn tortillas on the bottom.  I like to cut them in half which makes it easier to cover the edges.  Then I layered spinach leaves over the tortillas.  I quartered the zucchini lengthwise and chopped it into small pieces for the next layer.

zukes

zukes

halibut & tomato

halibut & tomato

sour cream & stock

sour cream & stock

cheese & tortillas

cheese & tortillas

On top of the zuke, I added cubed halibut and diced tomato.  If you wanted to, you could add some diced green chiles here too.  I then dotted some light sour cream over the top of that, and poured enough stock in to cover the bottom tortilla layer.  Shredded cheese on top, and then another layer of tortillas.

Tomatillo Salsa

You could just get a can of salsa verde if you didn’t have fresh tomatillos, but if you have fresh, just make it.  All you do is boil the tomatillos (be sure to husk them), drain the water, and blend it with a pinch of salt.  If you need some heat, boil a jalapeno or serrano chile with the tomatillos and blend it all up together.

Pour the tomatillo salsa over the top and cover the last tortilla layer.  Top with shredded cheese.  Make sure you leave about a 1/4 inch space to the top lip of the pan to avoid it boiling over in the oven.

Place the pan in a preheated oven at 350F for 30 minutes.  When done, let stand for 10 minutes and serve.  Enjoy!


Responses

  1. You make it sound so simple. and that’s the beauty, it is! Thanks Joe. Again, I’m honored, and hungry for halibut enchilada casserole!

    • Thanks for the inspiration and for stopping by Maureen.

  2. MMM! Sounds yummy. Now to get out there and have you take us fishing!

    • Thanks for stopping by Mia. I made it last night with some chicken breast, so it’s pretty adaptable. As far as fishing…you let me know and I’ll get you salty 🙂

  3. Yum! Love seafood when it has a Mexican flair. Thanks for sharing this great recipe Joe! So glad I finally found my longtime Twitter friend’s blog :0)

    • Glad you stopped by Deb! Let me know how it works out for you. Not sure what fish fits the bill on your end, but interested to see how you do it.


Leave a comment

Categories