Posted by: socalsalty | October 4, 2012

A Question Of Perspective

A.C.’s dodo

In the days leading up to this week’s trip, we had 4 or 5 consecutive days where almost every single boat at overnight to 2 day range limited out on yellowfin tuna (Mexican limit is 5 per angler).  Not only were the schools of tuna thick, there were a few caught at this range in the 60 lb class.  Expectations were high that I could come home with a full cooler of tuna with some dorado and yellowtail thrown in for good measure.  I ended up with 3 total fish (1 tuna, 2 dorado).  At first blush, I was disappointed with the outcome.

In my trip report, I wrote about a new salty friend, A.C.  He hadn’t been out in over a year and a half.  He had come out with a few buddies.  They saw the reports too, and had high hopes to come home with bags of tuna, but they were more about getting out together and enjoying the experience.  A.C. got a yellowfin tuna and the dodo I wrote about.  He was stoked.

Observing them, it made me rethink my perspective.  It made me think back to where I was as an angler at this time last year.  Last October, I had a day and a half trip on the New Lo-An.  There it was October and I had yet to catch a yellowtail for the year.  I caught about a dozen little rat yellows and I was feeling pretty dang good about myself.

October 2011

April 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the Lo-An trip, a couple lucky anglers scored dodo’s.  It was exciting for me to see dorado getting caught this far north.  Fast forward to May of this year, I went all the way down to the East Cape of Baja Sur and was thrilled to catch dorado.  As the season progressed, the water warmed up here and we caught dodos on local trips.

What’s my point?  A combination of my personal growth as an angler, and a fantastic year of fishing here in SoCal had jaded my perspective.  A.C. hadn’t fished in awhile and was thrilled to get what he got.  I did better than most on the trip.  I didn’t have any reason to be disappointed.

A lot of the people I talk to are “count chasers”.  They watch the counts and unless it’s wide open, they don’t go out.  Did we have a wide open trip?  No.  Do I think it’s still worth going out?  I think the question you have to ask yourself is this…”Would you be thrilled to catch these exotic species?”  Most of you would say yes.  Is the season winding down?  Yes.  My guess is we have another month or so.  My recommendation is you get out and make the most of it.  Soon enough we’ll be rockfishing.  Then rockfishing will end.  Some of us will fish halibut, sandbass, and sculpin.  But many of you will be at home waiting for rockfishing to re-open.  Meanwhile, you could be catching exotics now!  I really think you should go.  I will.  Tight lines!

Responses

  1. It’s good to realize how much your perspective can change just by having a good year. Just going out makes every trip worth it. Keep on fishing!

    • I consider myself very lucky to have the fishing opportunities that I have. I’ve met really good people who have accelerated the learning curve for me and I’m thankful for all of it. Helps sometimes though to get taken down a notch to appreciate how good you have it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

