Posted by: socalsalty | August 13, 2012

SoCal Dodo Hunt – Part III: Video & Final Thoughts

Did you notice the counts in the subsequent days following Thursday when I was out on the Belle?

Here they are (via 976-Tuna):

Friday – 29 anglers for 11 yellowtail and 9 dorado

Saturday – 35 anglers for 6 yellowtail and 13 dorado

Sunday – didn’t go out
Certainly decent, but more anglers, less fish.  I’m sure a lot of those people saw the count for Thursday, got excited, went out and got disappointed.  Am I saying don’t go out?  NO!  But what the data illustrates is how dangerous it is to follow the counts.  I’ve almost never hit it big when I chase a big count.  Part of it is just the odds.  Those wide open days like Thursday was on the Belle are few and far between.  Also, your individual odds as an angler are less because there are more people on the boat whenever there is a big count like we enjoyed.  Plus, if you don’t put your time in, you won’t have the necessary skills in place to maximize your opportunity if it’s anything less than a wide open bite.

What I am saying is you need to pay attention all the time.  Get good info from reliable sources (like here!).  Look at the trends and just go out.  For those of us that are the regulars, days like Thursday are our reward for time spent on the water.  We get to be the ones that can say, “I was there when the Belle broke wide open offshore and took home limits of dodos.”

Some of you may be wondering about the Sum Fun and whether or not to invest $100 on going.  Maybe you think you should go with the “surer thing” and go to SD…regardless of the crowds.  Me?  I’m going to do both.  My recommendation to you is whichever way you decide to go…go out, have fun, and enjoy the whole experience.  Enjoy the anticipation, enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of being on the water, enjoy the good times spent with friends, and if you are lucky, enjoy a day like this…Tight lines!

EDITORIAL NOTES

– YouTube is messing up and the embedded video doesn’t seem to be working now.  Here’s the direct link

– The Dana Pride out of Dana Wharf already has a dodo on their 3/4 run today (Monday).  Come out with me WED!!!

VIDEO

Responses

  1. I understand what you mean. Many, many years ago I went on a 3/4 day to the Coronados on New Year’s day while visiting in San Diego because the yellowtail had been wide open the day before. The boat was full because everybody else saw the same fish count. First stop looked promising w/ 5 hookups but only 1 yellowtail came on board while the sea lions feasted on the rest.

    After that we didn’t see another yellowtail till the afternoon and it was just a loner that a guy caught. We did catch some rockfish at the other stops but most people went home w/o anything.

    It was still worth it. The islands were beautiful, great crew, and I won a huge jackpot because I was lucky enough to get my yellowtail on the boat while the other guys fed the sea lions. I kept it watered down all day and it beat the fresher fish caught at the end of the day.

    Go when you can go and if it’s not like you thought it would be don’t be discouraged. Go another day. Meanwhile even on a rough day make each bait count because you never know. . .

    • Thanks for stopping by Allen and sharing your story. Congrats on JP!

      I always tell people, time on the water is its own reward. There were so many times I went out when I first started fishing here and didn’t catch anything. My first overnight, whole boat caught 2 yellows. I got bit…twice…and didn’t land either. I’ve been lucky enough to find people willing to teach me how to be successful. Every cast, every stop, every trip offers an opportunity to improve. In the meantime, I’ve made great, lifelong friends, seen some cool things on the water, learned a lot, and now I’m pretty decent at catching these fish. Tight lines!

  2. TAKE!!! ME!!! WITH!!! YOU!!!

    • You’ll get your shot buddy. We need to do some pre-work first.

  3. Hey you left out the part when you caught the boat’s prop and the sea chicken!

    • Ha! That initially made it in, but I had to cut it ;-). Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

