Posted by: socalsalty | May 24, 2012

Salty PSA: Renew Your Fishing License

Nice boat officer

Yesterday, I was on the Monte Carlo out of 22nd Street Landing in San Pedro.  The original plan was to ride the Pursuit, but there were some issues and it didn’t happen.  If you want to hear the story, check the audio report I filed with 976-Tuna.

Writing up the ticket

Anyway, long story short, we were out at Catalina Island, and we got boarded by the DFG.  This post is not a rant against the DFG!  They have a job to do and at the end of the day, they’re trying to protect the resources that we all enjoy.  Didn’t you cheer them on when they nailed those lobster poachers in Redondo last year?

This post is just a reminder that they are out there and they are taking all the rules seriously.  They checked all the anglers’ licenses and checked all the bags.  They ended up citing one of the anglers for an expired license.  In addition, because the boat is responsible for checking licenses, they cited the deckhand and captain as well.  Ouch!

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve gotten aboard before without my license.  I usually keep it in my bag, and it happened when I changed bags.  I would’ve been chapped if the deckhands had checked and they didn’t let me fish, but there’s a good reason why.  One of my buddies who used to deck the Daily Double told me he got cited $980 for a short in someone’s bag!  So if the crew is telling you to mind the length, catch limits etc.  Please listen and don’t give them attitude.  And unlike many government functions where you wonder…”Why isn’t this online?”  You can get your fishing license online here.  No excuses.  Handle it.  Tight lines.

Leave a Reply

Categories

