Posted by: socalsalty | May 3, 2012

Headed To Baja Sur

Map courtesy of TodosSantosBaja.com

Friday I take off for Southern Baja.  After I land, I’ll be headed down to San Jose del Cabo where I will meet up with chef and angler, Emilio Fracchia, aka Cook And The Fly.

Chef Emilio

Saturday morning, surf fishing guide extraordinaire, Wesley Brough (aka Cabo Surfcaster), will pick us up and show us how he gets it done from the shore.  I don’t fish a whole lot from the shore.  When I have, it’s been a side distraction to just hanging out at the beach.  I once caught a baby leopard shark, a few perch, no big deal.

Big snappers are in season

Then I was watching my buddy, Dave Maynard’s show, Fish the Baja.  Dave went fishing with Wesley and caught a real trophy, a 50lb roosterfish.  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one who thought that show was awesome as Dave won a Telly Award for that show.  I don’t know if I’ll be lucky enough to catch a trophy roosterfish, but I know I’m in for something good.  Wesley sent me this pic of some big cubera snappers he just caught this week.  I believe we’ll be fishing along the Pacific Coast side of the peninsula.

From the Cabo area, I’ll head up to the East Cape.  There, I’ll be doing some panga fishing with the 976Tuna crew.  I’m hoping to catch a big bull dorado, maybe a yellowfin tuna,  maybe a marlin.  Who knows what’s on tap?  All I know is I’m getting in a week of some real exotic fishing and hope to bring you some great pics and video.  Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Good luck! Sounds like an awesome plan… Enjoy!

    • Thanks Ronak. I appreciate you coming by. Check back to see how I did. Tight lines!

  2. Nice fish and story, You never disappoint!

    • Thanks Killer. See you on the water when I get back.


Leave a Reply

Categories

