Posted by: socalsalty | December 24, 2011

No Longer A Halibut Virgin!

Before I went to Guatemala, I had gotten in a ride with Dana Wharf on the Clemente for one of their Friday Halibut Drift days.  I was skunked on halibut that day (managed some sand bass), but it was a good day.  I met some really nice people and I gained critical knowledge.  Specifically, Jeanne (who caught 3 ‘buts on that trip) told me that she kept her reel in free spool in order to allow this finicky fish to really swallow the bait and hook himself.  She also told me that she used a fluorocarbon leader for that extra bit of stealthiness to avoid spooking this fish.

I put her advice to work for me yesterday and scored my first legal flattie in Southern California!  Thank you Jeanne!  Thanks to Capt. Chris and deckhand Marcus on the Sum Fun.  Thanks Dana Wharf.  And many thanks to my friend Hannah Stewart for her devoted vudu spells in support of my chase after a fish that has frustrated me for the last 2 years now.  Guess what I’m serving for Christmas dinner 😉

My first legal halibut in SoCal

Responses

  1. Leroy was telling me before twilight on Friday that you scored a halibut. I asked him how big and he told me 5-6lbs. I was thinking thats probably barely legal.

    Now i look at the pic, WOW! nice hali. Going to be eating good tonight!

    Good luck on the Pac Islander tomorrow. Wish i could of joined you but i have a golf outing tomorrow. Make sure to report how you did!

    • Thanks Ryo. We’ll have to all hit it again on the PI in 2012…maybe not bring Jose so we can all catch 😉 Merry Christmas buddy.

  2. Very nice Joe. Congrats on your first “stupid flat thing”, as one of my halibut fishing friends calls them. Haha

    Glad to see you took Jeanne’s advice. I had the pleasure of fishing with her every week for many years when dad and I fished in Dana Point. She and Lee (who you’ve probably met also) make the best fishing couple I have ever seen.

    P.S. I’ll be fishing the Spit probably a couple times before the closure, then again on the first for straight structure bass and sculpin fishing.

    • I made sure to mention to her Jimmy that you send your greetings. Yes, both her and Lee are super cool. I’ll be back for sure.

      Let me know when the Tradition is back in the water. I want to see what you guys do for fishing in January and also talk about how the MPA’s affect Redondo Sportfishing.

      Tight lines buddy.

  3. Congratulations Joe! Just got back into town last night and playing catch up. I am very proud of how hard you worked in 2011 to slay your Top 10. And I’m very happy that I was able to share the rail with you a couple of times this past year. You may not know this, but I secretly made it a goal to take your Top 10 from under you, but you totally wiped the floor with me! Couldn’t have been beaten by a better man. I would fish with you any day. I hope that 2012 brings you greater things and bigger fish. Tight lines my brotha!

    • Welcome back to SoCal Manny. I enjoyed meeting you and sharing the rail as well. I had a chance at a bonito but farmed it. Oh well. I’m pretty happy going 9 for 10. Stay tuned for a new list for 2012, and see you out there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

