Posted by: socalsalty | August 13, 2011

Trip Report: Back Home On The New Del Mar

The NDM, my home on the water

This week, I fished the twilight ride Wednesday and Friday on the New Del Mar.  It was good to get back out on the water here in SoCal.  Capt. Danny has been on vacation, so Capt. Steve was at the helm.  The crew Wednesday was Joel and Burt on deck, and Jordan in the galley.  It was a fun night on Wednesday, as many regulars and off-duty crew members joined the fishing.  Friday night, it was Eric and Burt on deck, with big Dylan working the grill, and a lot of familiar faces again.

Everyone was telling me that it’s been a strong bass bite with the occasional cuda thrown in to threaten jackpot.  I say threaten because the quality of the bass has been good (nice sizey 😉 ), with an occasional one being big enough to wrestle the title away from a cuda.  The caveat though was that the bite turned on late…after 8 and closer to 9.  And that’s the way it ran both nights for me.

Five sandies for Salty on Wed night

Wednesday night, NDM regular Ted had the hot stick nailing more than his limit of sand bass, but the nattily attired Ryo took the jackpot with a late cuda on the last stop.  Last night, it was NDM regular and friend of the blog, LeRoy with the hot hand, posting an impressive 14 sandies, 1 calico, and a cinnamon rockfish to round out the evening.  Shouts of CHOW! and Show No reverberated across Santa Monica Bay.

Anglers found success using heavier leadheads tipped with squid strips or whole squid.  Surprisingly though, the basic dropper loop setup, with a longer line to the weight (12-18″) and a short leader to the hook (3-5″) was the preferred setup to successfully land the bass.

I ended up taking the pot last night.  I got bit and set the hook, but then the line quickly went slack and I thought I lost the fish.  Somehow my line was off to the  left and wrapped around some other lines.  Uggh!  The night was going rough for me as it was and now I was up against the clock with a tangly mess on my hands.  I followed my line around to the stern and was working on getting it loose when the area I just left was yelling about a cuda that could be seen next to the boat.  Eric came over and gaffed it to find it was hooked.  Guess who hooked it?  I was lucky he didn’t bite through the line or find some other way to work himself off.  I didn’t even get to enjoy the satisfaction of reeling him in and pulling it over the rail.  Oh well.  Sometimes it’s better to be lucky than good.  Tight lines!

Link: Official counts

Ryo's JP cuda Wed night

My JP cuda Friday night

LeRoy - CHOW!

Leave a Reply

Categories

