Posted by: socalsalty | July 23, 2011

Trip Report: Channel Isle Twilight

It was great to catch up with Perry and Bryce

I’ve been having a string of bad fishing luck lately.  You’ve seen it on here.  It’s been a little rough.  Since my last barracuda, I’ve pretty much been 0-fer July.  Well, I don’t want to get ahead of myself, but I had a pretty good night last night.

Friday night, instead of hitting Marina del Rey for a twilight, I got a wild hair and drove up to Channel Islands to get on their twilight boat, the Channel Isle.  I took it as a good sign to see Perry and Bryce as I arrived at the landing.  We spent a lousy day of fishing together back in May, but meeting them was the bright spot for Jake and I on that trip.

Meet the Sandy twins from Channel Islands

I checked in and got ready to board.  Upon boarding, I asked one of the deckhands what to expect and prepared my gear.  We headed north of the harbor to the one spot that Capt. Jordan said was still holding bass.  The water temperature had dropped pretty significantly over the course of the week, and the bite was pretty scratchy he cautioned.

It took some time to get to the spot because the current was really strong.  When we got there, I started out with a dropper loop setup using 5 oz of lead.  That didn’t work and I had to bump up to 8 to do what I needed to do.  Long story short, I had to work very hard to catch fish, but I kept at it.  The end count was 33 bass (2 calico, 31 sand) and a handful of mixed rockfish (one nice red that I saw) for 28 anglers.  I managed to get 3 sand bass, and lucked into the jackpot with one that came in just under 2 lbs.  Still, it was good to catch fish (especially given the conditions) and even better to win.

This was cool, we should have dinner sometime

I think I’ll try to head down to SD tonight and hang  with the boys on the Daily Double tomorrow.  They tell me the fishing has been good, catching calicos in the high single digits and in great quantity as well.  It will also be nice to just catch up.

I hope your fishing is going well.  This weekend will be the last here in SoCal before heading up to Seattle and doing some salmon fishing up north, but I’ll try to keep you updated on what’s going on.  Tight lines.

Leave a Reply

Categories

