Posted by: socalsalty | April 4, 2011

Beach + Kids Does Not Equal Fishing

Jake and Juju playing at Will Rogers

So my thoughts of being able to surf fish kind of went out the window.  I got in maybe…maybe…a half dozen casts in tops.  The rest of the time I was untangling bird nests or just making sure the kids were having fun, safe, fed, not getting burned etc.  We met another salty there, a father named Cesar and his son Arturo.  They actually fished a little…much more than me.  Arturo was the only one who caught anything though, a baby leopard shark that they CPR’d (catch photograph release).  Not much else to report.

I did get to spend more time with Brandon Hayword’s new book, Getting Bit. I got about half way thru and I was correct in saying it’s a great read.  I was paying particular interest to the yellowtail section as I am getting reports they are starting a local bite down in the Coronados.  I think I’m going to have to go down there this week and get my fix.  I picked up some new jigs at Fred Hall expressly for that scenario and am eager to get a shot at using them.  More later.

Responses

  1. SoCal, sounds like you are a very good “instructor” for the kids fishing program. It takes a LOT of patience and good will to take the little ones out but at the end of the day I think it’s all worth it.

    They don’t seem to mind catching or not as their attention always gets drawn to something else. When you see the smiles on their faces checking out their fish or the shell they found, it doesn’t matter which to them, the day out is what its all about 🙂

    • Paul, not sure instructor is the term. More like moderator, without much control where the conversation is going to go. All I know, is that when I let go of trying to force fishing into the picture, I was able to just enjoy a nice day at the beach, and being with my kids. Not great content for the blog, but great content for me and the kids 😉 Thanks for stopping by buddy.

      • Joe, EXACTLY!!! Not forcing it on them is the way to go and making sure there are other options available for when the boredom inevitably sets in

        🙂

  2. Oh, and have no fear, I am a constant LURKER 😉

  3. So tell me , what kinds of bird nests were you dealing with? Yours or from the young’uns?

    Have you figured out how to cast out behind the breakers is what I’m wanting to know 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Juju was on sand crab duty. Jake was trying to fish, but he has a mental block with casting a conventional reel. I was literally like, “Hold this, don’t do anything.” Meanwhile, I’m detangling. Then I give him his back and mine would be tangled. I ended up just giving up. Salty is dying. Need to get in some fishing time before I go stir crazy.

      • You guys will get the hang of it. There’s a little bit of a learning curve when it come to casting from the sand. I do know a few guys that can regularly get out past 100 yards.

        Have you stepped up to a heaver yet? 🙂 The serious casters out hear tweak and tune on their reels , changing bearings and brakes etc. It also has a lot to do with the type of oil you use on your bearings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

