Posted by: socalsalty | March 16, 2011

OBN Writing Prompt: Damaged Goods

Outdoor Blogger Network was an early supporter of this blog.  They’ve written me up a number of times and they always put up my links when I submit them.  From time to time, OBN has writing prompts, and today’s subject hit home for me.  If you look at my Gear Lineup, you’ll note that my Shimano Trinidad 12 has found it’s way into many iterations of my “go to” setups.  It was one of my first “nice reels”.  A new one will cost you $400+, but I scored mine on eBay for about $150.  For awhile, this reel did time in my inshore setup, and at the time that setup comprised the Trini12 on a Dan Hernandez Signature Ugly Stik, with 15# mono.  I used this setup for half day bass trips and also kayak fishing in the bay.

Shimano Trinidad 12

On one of these kayaking trips, I think it was my second ever, I found a spot and doubled up with 2 sand bass on a 2 dropper loop setup.  Yeah!  Unfortunately, in my excitement, I accidentally let my Trini take a bath in San Diego Harbor.  I never realized just how bad saltwater can be to the inner workings of a reel.  Shortly after that incident, I had to have a new main bearing installed and the whole reel cleaned and lubed…at a cost of @ $160 or more than I originally paid.  It also froze up the clicker knob, which didn’t get fixed until recently.  Lesson learned.  I use more ‘replaceable gear’

when I yak, and take great care to not dunk them.  I also wash all my reels off in fresh water immediately after using them.

Yak Sandies from San Diego Harbor

Responses

  1. Nice catch! I now want to add that to my species list. How do they taste? Tight lines.

    • Hi Jake. You know what? It was worthy of getting excited, because it’s the only time I’ve ever doubled up on bass…sand or calico/kelp! Just wish I hadn’t dunked the reel. And yeah, they sure were tasty. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Isn’t that wild when to repair something it can cost more than the original investment? Maybe not wild….more like pocketbook painful!
    I’m glad you shared this story because the next time I’m around saltwater I will KNOW what not to do if I can help it. Reels are spendy little items….
    Thank you for sharing this costly, yet helpful reel story ~
    Rebecca

    • Hi there @Outdooress Thanks for stopping by! Still better price than buying new, but at that delta…would rather have the new reel. It’s also why I’m wary of buying reels now on eBay.


Leave a Reply

Categories

