Posted by: socalsalty | January 11, 2011

Fletch’s Fish Sticks

He's back... (photo courtesy of Universal Pictures)

OK people, you asked for it, you got it.  The return of Fletch and this time he came up with an original twist on a familiar favorite.

Enjoy!

Salty

Fletch’s Panko Breaded Fish Sticks

These aren’t the same fish sticks that haunt your freezer.

Basically these are just filets pared down so they make great finger food.  They can be fried for more flavor or baked  for a healthier meal. Either way, the key is in the breading. For the  best crunch, I recommend doing the full 3 step process of flour, egg  wash, and then panko bread crumbs. The flavor comes from the spices and  herbs you add to the flour mixture. (Some people put the spices in with  the bread crumbs but I think you get more flavor when it’s in the  flour.)

Slice filets to make into sticks

3 steps: flour, egg wash, panko mixture

For these fish sticks I used 2 tsp of dill.  For extra crunch and flavor, I mixed 1 cup of grated parmesan (yes a full cup) in with the panko bread crumbs. This gave me about 2 cups of breading so I could really cover all the mini fillets.  Be sure to dredge the fish sticks a few times and really press them into the panko mixture.

Then start frying.

Fry 'em up! (or bake)

Add Veggies (Careful, they cook fast)

In about 5-7 minutes, you’ve got a tasty meal.  All the crunch and flavor of fish sticks with high-quality, fresh caught fish instead of that mystery fish-mash they use in the commercial brands.

Let's eat!

Yum

Enjoy! Be sure to note what seasonings you like and modify to your taste. I’ve heard fresh rosemary is great as well.

Happy cooking!

-Fletch

Responses

  1. I also tried this recipe with ground mustard in the breadcrumbs but it was a bit too subtle.

  2. Sorry if I made you gun shy about the mustard , but you have to be careful if you don’t like spicy mustard. Personally , I like wasabi more than I should so mustard doesn’t bother me. In my opinion you have to be careful with seasonings that can ” overpower ” an entree , especially when cooking fish.

    Check out my link page Salty : http://somethingsfishy-jm.blogspot.com/p/somethings-fishys-favorite-links.html

    • I love mustard too, but I just didn’t put in enough. That was my problem but now that I’ve got a jar of it in the spice cabinet, I’ll definitely try it again and experiment.

      • I’m going to have a lot of fish after this weekend. I’ll get in 2 days on the water. I’ll bring you some more next week Fletch.

  3. I want to take Fletch’s method, tweak the spices, and use that breaded fish as the basis for a fish taco. I’ll post it if I can come up with something good.

  4. Man those look good. I love pictures of food. Found your blog today on OBN. Very nice! I will keep my eye on it.

    The Average Joe Fisherman

    • Thx Joe! I’ll check you out too. Follow me on twitter. I just tweeted my dinner 🙂

  5. Panko & Parmesan Crusted Halibut…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…


Leave a Reply

Categories

