Posted by: socalsalty | January 1, 2011

Three New Species (for me) This Weekend

I made it down to San Diego this weekend and got in a 3/4 day on the Malahini out of H&M Landing. We went out to the Corononado Islands off of Northern Baja and the trip was focused on rockfishing. I’ll have a full report soon, but in the meantime I wanted to show off some new species that I caught.

Bank Perch

Sebastes Ovalis

The crew called this fish a Bank Perch.  When I looked it up, I found out it’s also called a Speckled Rockfish, since it’s a rockfish and not a perch.  Also, what is commonly known as Bank Perch can be either the Sebastes Rufus, or the one that I caught (and pictured to the left), the Sebastes Ovalis.

Squarespot Rockfish

Sebastes Hopkinsi

The Squarespot Rockfish is also known as the Belinda.  Its scientific name is Sebastes Hopkinsi.  I caught these two fish (the Bank Perch and the Squarespot) in @ 120 feet of water, just off North Coronado Island, on squid strips with dropper loops.

Sebastes Constellatus

Starry Rockfish

In my opinion, the prettiest of the rockfish (at least that I’ve seen or caught so far).  It’s scientific name is Sebastes Constellatus.  I caught this guy in @ 300 feet of water on the rockfish gagnion rigged for me by John Anjard.  More on John in the full trip report.

There are dozens of species of rockfish (sebastes family), and it seems like there are twice as many “common” names for these fish.  The names seem to vary depending on what crew you are fishing with on a given trip.  I found this great page that tries to document all the various names.  It would be better if it had pictures, but once you know the scientific names, it’s easy to find images to double check which one you caught.

Responses

  1. Common names can make you crazy. Here in the east , a Rockfish is a Striped Bass for a lot of people and the Northern Kingfish goes by about a dozen different names.

    • JM, maybe Rockfish for a Striper (what we call them) is because of fishing for them from the jetties? Here, Kingfish is another name for a Croaker (what Juliana caught off the pier last weekend). When you say Kingfish, are you referring to a King Mackerel? Nice to see you again. Tight lines!


Leave a Reply

Categories

