Posted by: socalsalty | December 7, 2010

Introducing SoCalSalty

Chucklehead (the fish, not me)

Hello, my name is Joe Sarmiento and I love to fish in the ocean.  I grew up in the Seattle area where my first charter boat trip was when I was 10 years old and I caught a 26 pound silver salmon (aka coho).  I’ve been hooked ever since.  Today I live in the Los Angeles area and regularly fish the sportboats from LA to San Diego.  I also started kayak fishing this year.  In this blog I’ll report on fishing trips, both ones I’ve taken and ones I’d like to take, gear (same thing, stuff I’ve used and stuff I’d like to try), and topics of interest.  I may even throw in an occasional recipe from my catches.

My favorite quote is, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.”

Responses

  1. I am cracking up! Well done Sarmo. Very cool. Go Dawgs!!

  2. Thanks KD. Next time you are down south, we can do a trip report! 🙂

  3. Thanks B. Great reading/info and pictures! You both look handsome! I’ll try to print for you Mom. We’re leaving next week. I wish you could bring Juju and Jacob for X’mas. It would be nice to see them!! Love you B’.

  4. I’m not really a fisherwoman but I enjoy fishing, yet I really like your blog. It makes me want to go fishing (ice fishing would have to be what I do now though). On second thought, I’ll wait until the snow melts and read your blog instead!

    • Hi there @momraisingboys! Thanks for stopping by and the follow on Twitter. I am working now on your “Kid Friendly Fishing” post. One of my home boats, the Spitfire, out of MDR Sportfishing, Capt. Jeremy has a 3 year old son who comes out. I take my 10 year old on that boat as often as I can, and there’s also a great half day trip down in Dana Point where kids actually fish for free. I’ll detail what I think makes a trip child friendly and list some of the local child friendly trips. Maybe a guest post on your blog ? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

